Tony Khan voted as wrestling’s “Booker of the Year” for 2022

AEW President Tony Khan was voted as the 2022 “Booker of the Year” by readers of the Wrestling Observer Newsletter. Khan was also won the award in 2021.

Dave Meltzer of noted the following regarding Khan’s win…

“I usually don’t comment on this. And for the first six months of the year you can make the argument. But WWE and AEW as businesses were in the same position with one much larger but the clear-cut 1-2 in the world all year. However, it was WWE that grew all year while AEW did not do nearly as well in comparison over the last eight months.”

AEW also dominated other categories in the Observer awards including Wrestler of the Year (Jon Moxley), Tag Team of the Year (FTR), Best Weekly TV Show (Dynamite), and Promotion of the Year.